Local administration – multiuser accounts

Administrators of multiuser accounts (aka site licences) can use Local administration to manage the users:

  • increase or decrease their storage space
  • pause or resume account
  • delete or add accounts
  • edit user’s name and email

Administrators can also:

  • reset users’ passwords
  • view and download usage statistics
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
Administering multiuser accounts
1

Switch between multiuser accounts which you adminster.

2

View the usage statistics.

3

Add a new user manually.

4

Check the number of existing users and their limit. Check the assigned and remaining storage space.

5

The storage space available to the user.

6

The amount of space taken up by the user’s data.

7

User account management: change storage, pause, delete, edit user information, reset the password.

Access to local administration

The access to local administration, click the extreme top right icon person_outline found on all Sketch Engine screens. The Local administration only appears in the menu if you are an admin of a multiuser account (site licence).

Additional administrator

There is no limit to the number of administrators. To request an additonal administrator, the current administrator should contact us.

Add account

A new user can be added manually by the admin or user can join via an access code.

Manually

Click CREATE USER in the top right and complete the form. The password will be sent to the user by email.

Via an access code

If an access code was issued for your multiuser account, ask the users to complete this form. Using the code ensures the user is added to the right mutliuser account. The password will be sent to the user by email.

Storage space

To increase or decrease the user’s storage space, open the local menu next to the user more_vert and click Edit user. The remeaining storage space is shown at the top of the screen. Removing space from a user makes it available for another user. More space can be purchased.

Pause and resume accounts

Accounts can be paused (put to sleep). A paused account does not count against the user limit. A pauseduser cannot log in but their data are preserved for future use. To pause an account, open the local menu more_vert and click Pause account.

A paused account can be resumed only if the number of users is smaller than the limit. If the limit is reached, another account has to be paused or deleted (or an additonal account has to be purchased). To resume an account, open the local menu more_vert and click Resume account.

Reset password

To reset the user’s password, open the local menu next to the user more_vert and click Edit user. A new password will be sent in an email to the user’s mailbox. The user can change the automatically generated password in My account person_outline.

SSO accounts
ELEXIS accounts

If the account is set up for SSO authentication (each user logs in via their institutional username and password), there is no limit to the number of users logging in via SSO authentication.

The institution may sometimes have additional users which use their Sketch Engine username and password to log in. Such users are handled by the admin as described on the left.

Read-only access

Some institutions take advantage of read-only access. Corpus building is disabled, no storage space is available to users. Users do not identify themselves. Access is granted to anyone accessing Sketch Engine from the institutional wifi or network identified by IP addresses. No administration exists in such a case. User statistics cannot be generated.